Margyb's story

Discussion in 'Your Story' started by margyb, Oct 30, 2015.

1. margyb

margyb Senior Member

Originally written in 2011 ( dates fixed)

* Who is using e-cigs/PV's?

I am a 62 year old female. I am a retired nurse and smoked 30-50 cigarettes a day for 41 years.

I was diagnosed with severe emphysema 5 years ago. I knew I had to give up smoking as I was coughing all the time and got out of breath very quickly.

I also have a heart condition requiring monitoring and medication.

I also suffer from spinal degeneration at 3 levels which is very painful and debilitating

A 62 year old nurse friend of mine had just died from emphysema so I was really scared I was going to die soon as well.

My daughter told me lots of people in London were using electronic cigarettes and not smoking.

I did some google research and found a wealth of information on PV's (personal vapourisers) and found a vaping forum which was realll helpful

I gave up smoking almost as soon as I started vaping. 4 years ago

* Why are you using these devices?

I am vaping in an effort to prolong my life expectancy.

I enjoyed smoking and felt it relieved a lot of stress and helped with pain relief but I knew it was killing me slowly. I had attempted to quit smoking several times but it never worked.

Since I started vaping I now breathe better and dont need ventolin anymore. I have lost my smokers cough. I have more energy and can walk up hills again.

When I found Dr Farsalinos ( Greek cardiologist) had done testing which proved vaping did not affect the heart I was really excited and relieved. I follow all his research closely.

Giving up smoking using ecigarettes was so easy I couldn't believe my luck finding these life saving electronic cigarettes.

My sense of smell and taste have returned and I am glad I am not polluting the air with smoke anymore.

My family are so relieved that I gave up smoking and are happy with me vaping